Review: Yakiniku Like, Singapore's First Individual Smokeless Grill

Review: Yakiniku Like, Singapore's First Individual Smokeless Grill

Singapore's first individual smokeless grill, Yakiniku Like is a sleek, convenient experience for both individual and group diners craving yakiniku.

We’ve had Korean BBQs, Japanese Shabu Shabu, Teppanyakis, Table-Side grills, another grilled meat buffet is nothing special to us. Except Yakiniku Like is a whole new different ball game. This specialty fast food yakiniku restaurant from Japan is not new to the game, with 30 branches in Asia.

And they’re opening their first-ever outlet in Singapore at Paya Lebar Quarter, #B1-28. It’s a simple concept: individual smokeless grills for friends, or for the lone ranger.

A total of 16 individual grills, that have just enough space to feel a sense of privacy, check out this Yakiniku restaurant even when no one’s down for it.

They also offer shared grills for two diners to use – the experience is very personal, and we think that that’s really cool, because you’re not fighting for real estate on the grill.

Ordering is easy: just scan your own QR code receipt and order whatever you want, and the food comes within three minutes. Order off their ala carte menu if you’re simply craving meats without the rice and sides, but their set menus are worth a look at (price wise!!) too.

All prices are nett, so for a yakiniku place, Yakiniku Like is pretty darn affordable. The meats are imported from Australia and USA, and they take pride in their good relations with meat suppliers to be able to get them cheaper, hence cheaper prices.

 

Price Point

Prices for their set menu starts at $7.80 which includes meat, rice soup and choice of kimchi or salad. Fun/fat fact: their rice servings come at small, medium or large – all the same price, so for all the rice buckets out there, this one’s for you. Their sets:

Value for Money – Karubi Set: Beef short plate (S$8.80/100g ; S$12/80/200g ; S$16.80/300g)

Singapore Exclusive – Trio Set: beef short plate, pork jowl, chicken thight (S$12.80/150g ; S$17.80/300g)

AAA Top Quality Choice – Prime Karubi & Misuji Set: boneless short rib, top blade (S$15.80/100g ; S$19.80/200g)

Authentic Japanese Taste – Sukiyaki Karubi Set: sukiyaki beef short plate (S$9.80/100g ; S$13.80/200g)

No. 1 Choice – LIKE Set: beef tongue, skirt steak, beef short plate (S$15.80/150g ; S$19.80/250g)

Best Seller in Japan – Karubi and Harami Set: beef short plate, sirt steak (S$12.80/100g ; S$18.80/200g)

Unbeatable Price – Pork and Chicken Set: pork belly, chicken thigh (S$7.80/100g ; S$11.80/200g)

Ultimate Indulgence – Wagyu Steak Set: premium Australian wagyu beef steak (S$19.80/120g ; S$29.80/180g)

Their Karubi Set (aka the most Value for Money Set) consists of Beef Short Plate and prices start from S$8.80 for 100 grams and up to S$16.80 for 300 grams.

And all the meat is sliced just nicely, not too thick, not too thin for our liking, and really brings out the juicy flavours of the meat when grilled. The Karubi set was our favourite, very tender, very juicy, we rate an 8/10 mouth-feel.

The premium Australian wagyu beef steak was succulent and sinfully fatty – cut into thick strips, it’s a hit or miss on textures, depending if you like your wagyu sliced or if you’re into the chunky. It’s a personal preference thing – but we guarantee that you’re getting a bang for your buck with the amount of meat you’re getting.

 

Yakiniku Like's Specialty Sauces

All meats are marinated in their specialty house sauces, and taste delicious on their own, making you not even want to dip into their sauces.

 

But we advise you to dip anyways.

Yakiniku Like has four available dipping sauces, Original BBQ Sauce (an AFN top-pick – by our comm dev), Garlic Soy Sauce, Sea Salt Sauce and Spicy Miso Sauce. A quick run-down: the BBQ Sauce goes amazing with the Karubi set & pork ; Garlic Soy with beef ; Sea Salt with Beef Tongue ; Spicy Miso with pork & chicken. Yakiniku Like also serves red chilli and garlic chilli sauce as part of their condiments line-up, which are exclusive to Singapore. Pro Tip: Mix ALL the sauces (including the chilli, that’s right) for a flavourful kick of spice and umami. Trust us, it’s actually, so good.

Currently Yakiniku Like has only location in Singapore, and we’re (the westies) hoping they open one more west-centric, or just in the middle. Nonetheless, it’s worth travelling for. So, head on down to Paya Lebar Quarter and indulge yourself on some good, affordable Yakiniku now.

More Details

10 Paya Lebar Rd

#B1-28 Paya Lebar Quarter

409057 Singapore

Restaurant Contact Number

Tel: 6970 7397

Fax: 6970 7398

Opening Hours

Mon-Sun: 11am to 10m (Last Order: 9.30pm)

Seating Capacity

42 pax

Socials

Facebook: @yakinikulikesg

Instagram: @yakinkulikesg

Hashtag: #yakinikusg

Categories:

Reviews

Share Recipe
Close

We use cookies to enhance your experience, for analytics and to show you offers tailored to your interests on our site and third party sites. For more information, please refer to our Cookie Policy.

By clicking "Accept", you agree to our use of cookies and similar technologies.